books

Laid up with a bad cold for a few days I am trying to distract myself by reading and catching-up on movies and recorded TV. I can map my recovery by the amount of time I can spend on either activity before falling asleep again, and I know I am within 24 hours of being well again when I can hobble down to the cafe to get some air and sunshine, and a takeaway (decaf) coffee. Aah, how good to be able to taste good food and good coffee again.

In an act of perfect timing, a recent large package of books arrived. A great pairing of available time and available books. A couple of amazing work books, a couple on human behaviour, a couple of novels, a few on India. One great, coffee table sized book called Indian Sculpture and Iconography, which is a look at South Indian statues and carvings with iconographic explanations. Carving in South India is a science with well prescribed style and measurements, prescribed thousands of years ago in ancient Hindu documents, and master carvers are loved and revered. I can’t wait to read more.

I was browsing photos from a few years ago in Sydney, at a time when we had lunch in a popular cafe in a warehouse. No longer there, I loved this cafe, eclectic, and part of a wider interior design/furniture business. The porridge I had for breakfast was large and gorgeous, served with brown sugar and fresh honeycomb.

Later, in our Sydney kitchen, we tried a raw, Thai inspired lettuce wrapped dish, which turned out to be amazingly delicious, easy to make, and just as good as leftovers.

recipes

porridge, Indian style

Thai lettuce wraps

Save

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

Leave a Reply

