food

It’s been a busy time, seeing to my sick relative, focusing on getting those endless projects moving and odd jobs done, catching up on bookwork and so on and so on. It has been left-over time in the kitchen quite a bit, and a couple of lunches in cafes as I haven’t had the time to prepare as well as I would like.

I find that if I miss the time in the kitchen on the weekend, my whole week’s food suffers enormously. It is the time that I plan, pre-prepare and set things up for a smooth week in the kitchen. It that doesn’t happen, then neither does the smooth week. And I am never happy when I cannot get into the kitchen. I lack energy and have extra serves of grumpiness.

Ever since my first trip to India, I have been a fan of savoury breakfasts, moving more and more away from the sweet things that are common place here. There are a few exceptions – thick thick yoghurt with fruit in summer, and in winter, steel cut oats porridge with golden syrup or treacle.

The other morning breakfast was a great bowl of dal topped with chopped Indian spicy pickled lemons, some spring onions, ginger and chillies, plus a side bowl of salad greens (undressed). A perfect breakfast that meant I wasn’t hungry again until mid afternoon.

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

Leave a Reply

