inspiration

I wrote the other day about how my week becomes disorganised, food wise, if I dont spend some time on the weekends firstly cleaning and reorganising the kitchen, and then thinking about food for the week. If I don’t do it, my eating suffers, and then I suffer from lack of energy and a lack of general cheeriness.

I arrive home from my walk this morning and look into the fridge for inspiration. Nothing is forthcoming, it is almost empty, but it does need a clean. So half an hour later I have beans cooking, a vegetable soup basis simmering and a cheese rind waiting to go into the mix.  The last of the vegetarian fish sauce has been used up (thank goodness), a splash of mirim remains in the bottle and will find a home today or tomorrow, and some miso cries out for use. It will be a miso week, I can see that coming. And the fridge is clean and sparkling again.

Later, something led me today to a spot where the shops were closed but there, right there in a public spot, was a laden cumquat tree. There were tons of cumquats, and I came home with a basketful. Jam will be made for sure. It is finds like these that turn an ordinarily great day into a spectacular one.

recipes

cumquat jam

other cumquat recipes

 

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

Leave a Reply

