mum

My Mum left us a few years ago today. When my Mum was frail and with the beginnings of dementia and short term memory loss, it made our conversations peculiar, but I loved it. I love the closeness and the nakedness of being that we can had when that all reserve, all constraint was gone from our relationship. When she believed that my grandmother (who passed many years ago) had been cooking in the kitchen all night, I tell her to say Hi to her from me, next time she dropped by. When she asked me again when my brother will be over to visit, I patiently told her again. And again.

She loved my food then, at the last, when it was always far too spicy before. She loved my clothes then, when they were always too black and unbecoming before. And the stories she could tell, now that appearances were no longer important and she felt free to laugh at herself and at others. I loved this precious time that we have together. I felt so blessed to have had this time with her. I felt grateful that I could let my guard down when I was with her. I felt too that at last I was getting to know the real person behind the other one who always worked so hard to give us what we needed, and had to steel herself each day to keep going.

I saw this again today, Philip talking about his father. I understand every photograph and the joy and such love that parents in deep age can bring to their family. I hope that you can take a look. The book with the complete set of 3 years of photos is amazing.

And today, the 8am meeting was cancelled at 7am and it seemed such a good opportunity to lie in a little longer. You can picture it, can’t you – sitting with coffee and laptop, catching up on email, reading food blogs and planning the day ahead.

I managed to shoot home from the office for lunch. A real treat! And sunshine galore.

I have an urge to make pasta and hummus! Maybe later in the week.

Save

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

Leave a Reply

