carpark

A funny thing happened to me yesterday. It made me smile. A lot.

Driving into a small street carpark, a very large car was backing out. Concerned he could not see me behind him, and in imminent danger of causing damage to his car by hitting mine, I tooted my horn. Now there is no polite way to toot a horn. You just toot it.

With nary another thought about it, I parked my car at the other end of the carpark. My mind was on the visit to the Indian grocers — what I needed to get and what exciting things I might find — when a large blast of a large horn shook my car to the core, and as I turned I saw an upraised finger coming from the car that I had just saved from damage.

Now normally I am affronted by such things, and always totally and very sadly surprised that people have this in them. But today, I determined in that flash of a tiny split second that I would not take on the anger of these guys. I waved at them joyfully, said “No worries, glad I could help. Have a wonderful day, may it be fabulous for you”, and (after they passed) I blew kisses at them.

The joy it gave me to say such things, the avoidance of the negativity that would have come had I taken on their state of mind, and the look on their faces made my day a lovely and happy one. I can just imagine them sitting down that night with a cuppa tea or a couple of beers, saying “What a great day that was! And just imagine, it began with that old biddie who nearly ran into us as we were backing out.” Lol, I do hope their week progresses just as well.

And in the kitchen, gin soaked cumquats are looking so divine, the cumquat chutney is so good I am eating it at every meal. I quickly turned the sprouted red lentils (masoor dal) into a sundal with panch phoron, baked some chickpeas, and had rose yoghurt with passionfruit for breakfast.

recipes

chaat masala

quick sprouts sundal

cumquat chutney

gin soaked cumquats

rose yoghurt

baked chickpeas

 

Author: Ganga108

Heat in the Kitchen, Cooking with Spirit. Temple junkie, temple builder, temple cleaner. Lover of life, people, cultures, travel. Champion of growth, change and awareness. Taker of photos. Passionate about family. Happy.

Leave a Reply

